Tragicomedy

Swirl of Sundays
Hair done up
Ironed clothes
Newest shoes on my toes

Verses I have in mind
And a mouth that speaks just kind
Best behavior bless my soul
So it seems
And it seems

Isn’t this a tragedy?
To be in a circus of emotions
Doing all the work
But never seeing truth

Blinded by my happy dreams
Thought that I have all the best of things
So I sing, act, shuffle, and smile
Sing, act, shuffle, and smile
But without the One who gave me life

Opened those doors
With a heart that yearns for You
A thirst, a hunger
To see, be full, and new

But I memorized the lines
Wrote the songs across my heart
Played best behavior
Thinking that I got the part

Foolish masquerade
Full of laughter
Fun, and colors
But I opened my palms
They’re empty of light
Empty of Light

Free me from this tragedy
With all Your grace and glory
Embrace me ’till eternity

So sing, act, shuffle, and smile
Again, sing, act, shuffle, and smile
I need the One who gave me life

Leave a Reply

